Eating My Way Down the East Coast (Part 1)


As I’ve mentioned in previous posts, I just relocated to Miami.  Because of this, you’ll probably see many posts with me referencing my new home, the flavors of Miami, and different restaurants.  I still have a TON of exploring to do!

Today, however, I want to share my experience of the trip down to Miami.  Well, mainly my stomach’s trip down to Miami.  So here are a few places we stopped along the way:

Day 1 – Philaphelphia, PA

This photo needs no introduction.  When you think of Philly, the first thing that comes to mind is probably a cheese steak (or It’s Always Sunny In Philadelphia or maybe Rocky.)  Jon just had to have one.  So we put little post out on Facebook asking for recommendations and we were told to go to Steaks on South.  As you know, I don’t eat meat so I just took Jon’s word for it when he said it was tasty.  And I believe he ate the whole thing (sans Cheez-Whiz, which is supposedly how you are supposed to eat them in Philly.)  By the way, notice the bite taken out?  You’ll be seeing this in a few of my photos as Jon always got to the food before I had a chance to get my camera out.  Guys get hungry, what can I say?

Now for dessert!  We walked past little store front and the pink just drew me in.  We decided to step inside and check it out.  We met Roz, the owner of this cute little shop called Homemade Goodies by Roz.

The kitchen is open for you to see and there were bakers peeling apples and pulling things out of the ovens.  Roz explained that they are a Kosher and non-dairy bakery.  I was interested in trying the buttercream icing because of this.  We ordered a mocha cupcake and it was delectable!   The cake was so moist (I’m not afraid to use that word) and not too sweet.  The icing was soft and flavorful.  To be honest, it tasted a bit more like maple than mocha but I’m not complaining because it was that good!

Day 2 – Ocean City, Maryland

Maryland is known for their crabcakes so I was on the hunt for some.  We walked the boardwalk in Ocean City looking for the right place to go.  Everyone boasted to have the best so how was I supposed to choose the right one?  I turned to Yelp, which is my favorite food finder, and was told to go to Captain’s Table.  The cakes were fantastic!  The tartar sauce had a bit of dijon mustard in it that complimented them so nicely.  As you can see below, the food bandit hit once again.

While in Maryland, we were told that we had to try the Fractured Prune for the best donuts ever.  I hadn’t had donuts in so long and my mouth was watering just thinking of them! (My mouth is watering NOW just thinking of them.)  We got there and they were closed!  I guess they close at noon because who would ever think about eating donuts in the afternoon?  I mean, that’s just crazy.  So, if you’re ever in the area, please go there and let me know how it tastes, or kindly ship me one.

To be continued…

But even if I’m left high and dry at the end of this wild journey, just taking it is a great feeling.  -Olivia Wilde

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Leah
    Sep 29, 2011 @ 13:36:46

    I just wanna lick the icing off that cupcake!!!!

    Reply

  2. Alex Winter
    Sep 29, 2011 @ 15:20:52

    I am always so hungry after reading your blog.

    Reply

Whatcha Thinkin?

Previous Posts

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

