Chai Cupcakes


Today was our cupcake exchange in class.  As I mentioned before,  I made chai cupcakes.  I borrowed a cook book from my friend, Jessica, called 125 Best Cupcake Recipes by Julie Hasson.  The recipe was really easy and I was bit a surprised when it told me to open a tea bag of chai and empty the contents into my dry ingredients.  I was worried that my cupcakes would be gritty but actually I didn’t notice it at all when I bit into them.  The recipe also suggested a frosting for the cupcakes but I decided to make a buttercream and flavor it myself.  We have been making so much buttercream in school lately that I thought I would  try it myself at home.  I flavored it with a tablespoon of vanilla and about 1/4 tsp of cloves just to give it a kick.  I figured the cloves would either make this recipe that much better or completely ruin it.  Well, it definitely made this recipe that much more awesome! After icing the cupcakes, I sprinkled them with cinnamon.

I took them to school today and got so many compliments!  Everyone was asking for the recipe and a few people even took them home. Check them out!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. pauline
    Feb 08, 2010 @ 22:44:02

    these look like mini frappucinos! good job!!

    Reply

Whatcha Thinkin?

Previous Posts

