No Crust PB&J Cupcakes


Since I had some trouble with my cupcakes for Cupcake Camp NYC, I felt that I needed to redeem myself by making more cupcakes last weekend.  So at the request of my hunny, I made some “No Crust PB&J Cupcakes.”

The cake is a white cake with vanilla for flavoring.  Once the cupcakes were cool, I inserted a knife about half way into the cupcakes and twisted to make a hole.  Then  I filled a piping bag with strawberry jelly and a medium sized tip and piped the jelly into the cupcakes.  You have to make sure the tip is pretty far down into the cupcake or the jelly will shoot back out of the top of the cupcake (learn from me!)  The cupcake will bulge when it’s got a decent amount of jelly in it, that’s when you stop.  For the frosting, it’s just peanut butter, confectioner’s sugar, milk, and butter.

I didn’t want to do the traditional swirl of icing for the top, so I tried to think of the characteristics of a peanut butter and jelly sandwich.  That’s when I got the idea to make a zig-zag pattern; kinda like what you see on the Jiffy commercials.  They went over quite well and the only critique I got was that they needed more jelly.  These are a keeper!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kevin
    Apr 15, 2010 @ 20:16:14

    Wow, those look amazing! Is “hunny” gaining weight from all the delicious cupcakes?

    Reply

Whatcha Thinkin?

Previous Posts

