Birthday genoise cake


Today we are havin a BBQ for Jon’s birthday. Even though I’m a vegetarian I absolutely love grilling out.. Boca burgers and Smart Dogs are delicious on the grill!
So anyway, back to the best part, dessert! I made a genoise birthday cake. Genoise is a typically dry cake made mostly from eggs with a bit of cake flower and cornstarch. Because of it’s dryness you have to “soak” each layer with a simple syrup mixture which gives it moistness and flavor. By “soak” I mean dipping a brush in the syrup mixture then patting it on the cake until it looks moist.
For my cake I soaked each layer in a simple syrup and rum mix then put a stripe of strawberry preserves then a layer of vanilla rum buttercream on top. For finishing I sliced strawberries and put them around the sides of the cake.
This cake is extremely rich and you really only need a tiny slice to satisfy your sweet tooth.

Whatcha Thinkin?

Previous Posts

