I’m Back!


Hello all my fellow bakers and blog readers!  I know that I have been gone for a while, planning a wedding can be pretty crazy, but I am back!  I have so many things that I want to do, including keeping this blog up to date so let’s hope I can finally stick to it.  I’m hoping to get my computer savvy husband to update this thing for me so it a bit more pleasing to the eye, but that will come with time.

I have begun working at a bakery in NYC and we just got done with our crazy, hectic pie making days.  Thanksgiving is one of our busiest times of year, even bigger than Christmas!  I’m not sure if I can ever eat another apple for the rest of my life after peeling, chopping and baking so many apple pies…ok..I lied…I just ate one yesterday.

Anyway, I hope that everyone had a wonderful Thanksgiving and ate lots of goodies!  I baked a Coconut Sweet Potato Pie that I really wish I would have taken a picture of.  My husband ate it so fast that I didn’t have a chance!

Below is the Recipe taken from the NY Times:

Coconut-Sweet Potato Pie With Spiced Crust

Published: November 19, 2010

Time: 1 hour 20 minutes

2 medium sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into 1-inch chunks

1 1/3 cups graham cracker crumbs, made from one package graham crackers, which has 9 full cracker sheets

1/4 cup shredded unsweetened coconut

1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons sugar

1 1/4 teaspoons ground ginger

1 1/4 teaspoons ground cinnamon

8 tablespoons (1 stick) butter, melted

3 eggs

1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg

Pinch ground cloves

Large pinch salt

1 cup coconut milk.

1. Heat oven to 350 degrees. Put the sweet potatoes in a medium saucepan, add water to cover by about an inch, and bring to a boil; reduce the heat to medium-low and cook until the potatoes are very tender, 12 to 15 minutes. Drain, then rice the potatoes or run them through a food mill.

2. While the potatoes cook, put the graham crackers in a food processor and pulse several times until they are finely ground. Add the shredded coconut, 2 tablespoons of the sugar and 1/4 teaspoon each of the ginger and cinnamon, and pulse once or twice; add the melted butter and pulse just to combine. Press the mixture into a 9-inch pie dish and bake for about 7 minutes. Remove the crust from the oven and cool.

3. In a food processor, combine the eggs with the remaining sugar, ginger and cinnamon, along with the nutmeg, cloves and salt; pulse until well combined. Add the coconut milk and pulse to combine, then add the sweet potatoes and pulse until just smooth.

4. Put the pie plate on a baking sheet. Pour the sweet potato mixture into the crust and bake until the mixture is set on top but still quite moist, 40 to 45 minutes. Cool on a rack and serve warm or at room temperature.

Yield: 6 to 8 servings.

I didn’t have a potato ricer, so I just mashed them by hand.  I did not use a food processor either because I do not own one (although I did ask for one for Christmas..keep your fingers crossed!)  The end product was delicious!  The filling had some lumps because I mashed them by hand but I think it just added to the texture.  You also may not have to use all the filling as mine overflowed when I put it all in.  Serving this warm is also the key to a delicious slice.  I didn’t care for it at room temp, but 10 sec in the microwave made a big difference!

Enjoy my fellow bakers!

Whatcha Thinkin?

Previous Posts

