Heaven Lives in a Black Bean Burger


It’s Tuesday.  YOUR Tuesday, but really my Sunday.   Actually you could say it’s my Saturday and Sunday.  I worked yesterday, which was my Monday and Friday, because I was off on Sunday, which was more like a Sunday and Saturday combo.  Confused yet?  Welcome to my life.

There is a light at the end of my confusing tunnel and it leads you to a world of beans and rice.  Not like a side of beans and rice, but more like a patty.  A nice thick patty seasoned with chili powder, curry, and soy sauce to name a few.

About a month ago I decided that I would make one new recipe for dinner each week.  I was getting tired of the same old thing: Fish and veggies or Salad.  Being a pescetarian, it limits my options, but I knew there was more out there.  I knew my husband would greatly appreciate some variety in his diet.  He still eats meat, but to save time, he will succumb to my crazy veggie-fish eating ways.

So anywho!  Back to these amazing burgers.  I adapted these from a blog I follow called Brown Eyed Baker.  She adapted them from the Joy of Cooking.   So I guess you could say:

Black Bean Veggie Burgers

adapted from: Brown Eyed Baker (who adapted them from) Joy of Cooking

Yields: 6 thick burgers

  • 2 tspn olive oil
  • 1 cup chopped onion
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/2 cup grated carrots
  • 1 tspn chili powder
  • 1/2 curry
  • Two 15 1/2 oz canned black beans, rinsed
  • 1 1/2 cups cooked whole grain rice (brown rice is fine as well)
  • 2 tablespoons Dijon mustard
  • 2 tablespoons reduced sodium soy sauce (regular works fine)
  • 2 tablespoons ketchup
  • 2 tspn parsley (dried or fresh)
  • 1 cup chopped Agaricus mushrooms
  • Pepper to taste
  • pinch of cayenne pepper
  • 1 tspn vegetable oil

1. In a large skillet over medium heat, heat the 2 teaspoons of olive oil.  Add the onion and garlic and cook, stirring until softened, about 5 to 7 minutes. Reduce the heat to low, add the grated carrots, chili powder and curry and cook for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally. Remove from the heat and let cool.

2. Meanwhile, in a large bowl mash together the black beans, mustard, soy sauce, and ketchup. Stir in the onion and carrot mixture. Add the cooked rice and chopped mushrooms, stirring to combine. Season with pepper and cayenne pepper.

3. Form the mixture into six patties. Heat the 1 teaspoon of vegetable oil in a nonstick skillet.  Add the burgers and cook over medium-low heat, for 5 to 8 minutes per side, until browned and crisp.

These little suckers can be very tricky to turn since there isn’t much holding them together.  Don’t be impatient like me and try to flip to early or they will just crumble.  The good thing is that you can somewhat patch them back together while they are cooking.

I also made a side sweet potato fried seasoned with fresh dill and garlic and a touch of salt and pepper.

Try them out!  Make them for yourselves, or for 5 of your friends.  Or for your man who bought you sweet sunflowers.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heidi
    Jun 29, 2011 @ 09:02:05

    Mmmmmm! That looks delicious! The pics are amazing, as usual. Your blog always makes me want to cook more and eat healthier, ha.

    Reply

    • Reigh
      Jun 29, 2011 @ 17:17:29

      Cooking is fun once you start doing it. Let me know what things you are interested in and maybe I can find a good recipe for you!

      Reply

  2. Leah
    Jun 29, 2011 @ 09:48:43

    Those do look good! I would definitely be the person who’d flip early!! Yikes!! LOL I should try making one new thing a week, too…that’s a great idea!!! (Dont’ know if I’ll do it…but maybe!) ;) I think I already have most of these ingredients at home, so I’ll have to try this sometime!! (Well..except the mushrooms…I don’t even know what kind those are! LOL)

    Reply

    • Reigh
      Jun 29, 2011 @ 17:18:41

      I always make the “one new thing” on my day off, that way I don’t feel rushed when I get home. Then you can have leftovers on the days you do work…yum.

      Reply

Whatcha Thinkin?

Previous Posts

