I’m going to a BBQ…


Have you ever played the Alphabet Game but starting with “I’m going on a picnic and I am bringing…”?  You name something starting with an “A”, the next person says “I’m going on a picnic and I am bringing..” then repeats what you said and then adds something that starts with a B.  You have to remember the entire list and add something each time.  It’s quite fun.  Try it.

Well anyway, today I went to a BBQ and I brought…

orechiette salad

Ok, it doesn’t start with an “A”…I am well aware.  But my name starts with an “A” so doesn’t that count for something?  However, each day leading up the BBQ I changed the menu for what I was bringing.  I couldn’t bring any dessert because I was going to a fellow baker’s house.  I could bring bread, but that was still something baked.  Now was my chance to make something savory for someone!  I pretty much played the Alphabet Game with myself until I finally settled on this wonderful summery salad.  Wanna learn how to make this simple but oh so flavorful salad?  It just so happens that I know the recipe.  Check it out.

Orecchiette salad with Pears and Bleu Cheese

adapted from Simple but Perfect Salads

serves 4

ingredients

  • 9 oz/250 g dried orecchiette
  • 1 head radicchio
  • 1 head romaine lettuce
  • 2 pears
  • 1 T lemon juice
  • 9 oz/ 250 g bleu cheese, diced or crumbled
  • 1/2 cup walnuts
  • 4 tomatoes quartered
  • 1 red onion, sliced
  • 2 oz/ 55g canned corn (drained and rinsed)
for the dressing
4 T olive oil
2 T lemon juice
salt & pepper to taste
Ready?
Bring a large heavy-bottom pan of lightly salted water to a boil.  Add the pasta and about 1 tspn of olive oil (to keep the pasta from sticking together).  Bring to a boil and cook until tender but still firm.  Drain, refresh in a bowl of cold water and drain again.
Chop (or tear) the romaine and radicchio and place in a large bowl.
Halve the pears and remove the cores.  A melon baller works great for this! Don’t forget to cut off the stems and butts, who wants to eat that?
Dice the pears into cubes about 1/4 – 1/2 and inch thick.  Place in a bowl and toss with 1 T of lemon juice.  We want our pears to stay fresh!  Who wants to eat a brown pear?  Since I was taking this to a BBQ, I put it into a plastic container to take with me…who wants a brown pear AND a soggy salad?
Quarter the tomatoes and slice the onions.  Put these in a separate container from the pears, or just place on top of the salad if you plan on serving this immediately.
I placed the corn, pasta and the walnuts in the bowl with the lettuce since I knew they wouldn’t oxidize.  At this point you can also add fresh basil leaves, but I am notorious for forgetting at least one ingredient and true to form, I forgot this part.  What kind of baker am I?  Who has two thumbs and forgets ingredients?  THIS GAL!
Let’s make the dressing!
Take one lemon.  JUICE IT!  Remove those pesky seeds.  Add an equal amount of olive oil.  Add salt and pepper.  TASTE!  Always taste before you serve to someone else…especially at a BBQ where you might not know everyone and need to make a good impression.   I don’t ever measure ingredients for my dressings I usually eye ball it, but if you are a measurer feel free to follow the dressing recipe at the beginning.
Once you get to your final destination, throw all the ingredients onto the radicchio salad mix.
Pour dressing over salad.  Toss and eat!
Then go back for seconds because it’s THAT good.  What!?  There’s none left?  I know, it’s because you made such a delicious dish.
Happy 4th of July!
Those who deny freedom to others deserve it not for themselves.
– Abraham Lincoln
5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heidi
    Jul 05, 2011 @ 09:18:22

    Mmm, what a colorful salad! Where do you find all these wonderful recipes?? After reading your last blog I started looking into recipe blogs. I think I’d probably branch out more if I got daily emails of recipes…maybe…hopefully. :)

    Reply

  2. Leah
    Jul 05, 2011 @ 10:33:35

    It’s so pretty!!!!!!!!

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Pineapple Date Bread « Peace. Love. Pastries.
  4. Trackback: Peace.Love.Pastries. | Pineapple Date Bread

Whatcha Thinkin?

Previous Posts

