Friends and Food


Hey there.

How’s it going?

Busy week?  Yeah, me too.

What’s your favorite way to unwind after a crazy week?  Mine is food and friends.  Food keeps my belly satisfied and friends keep my heart satisfied.  What else do you need in this crazy world?

On Thursday I met up with a few of my favorite baker buddies at Westville in the West Village.  Let me tell you a little bit about this hidden gem.

They have the coolest “Specials” menu around.

Westville Specials

I mean look at it!  It’s handwritten on notebook paper and photocopied!  I wonder if they hire someone just based on their handwriting.

Another thing: they are vegetarian friendly.  NEVER am I able to find a vegan hot dog.  Even most of the vegan restaurants I have been to don’t sell them.  But Westville has them.  They also have veggie burgers and lots of different meat free entrees to choose from.

Want a little bit of everything?

Pick four sides from their market menu!

My friend got this and it looked amazing.  I was drooling!  That is, until MY entree arrived.

Westville Greek Salad

A Greek Salad topped with fresh dill ( I ♥ Dill) and toast spread with goat cheese.

To be honest,  I don’t really like cucumbers, but I ate them.  Ok, not ALL of them, but I happened to let a few onto my fork and into my mouth and the salad was still amazing.

Our conversation lasted way longer than our food, but it was the perfect evening for catching up.  I left Westville (not without spilling a drink, of course) with a full heart and a full belly.

Some people go to priests; others to poetry; I to my friends.  ~Virginia Woolf

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Leah
    Aug 01, 2011 @ 13:23:33

    If they did hire based on handwriting, I’d never get hired, that’s for sure!! Looks delicious!!! :)

    Reply

Whatcha Thinkin?

Previous Posts

