The Grand Finale


I’m sure you have noticed the lack of recipes on this so called “food” blog.

There’s a good explanation for this and it’s actually the last thing in my list of the supposed “million” things I need to tell you.

Pack your bikini because things are about to get a whole lot more tropical…

WE’RE MOVING TO MIAMI!

Yup, that’s right, at the end of this month, my husband and I will be driving down the coast to our new home in Miami.  I hope you like a lot of citrus fruits because you might be seeing them pop up in my recipes.

Now, while I’m super excited to be starting a new adventure, I am still going to miss all the craziness that is New York and New Jersey.  Over the winter I was dying to be somewhere tropical.  When we visited Hawaii earlier this year we just knew it felt right to be somewhere in the sun, but now that it’s truly happening I’m starting to think of all the things I am going to miss!

I feel like I’m going through a break up.

Me: It was great while it lasted, but I think we need to see other people.  I just want more excitement in my life.  Your seasons are always changing and you go from steaming hot to bitter cold in a day.  I never know what to expect.  And frankly, you kind of smell when you get hot and can be down right rude.  Also, there’s someone else.  And he’s warm.  He’ll never make me walk 8 blocks in 2 ft of snow and he also smells nice.

NY: Fine, I will be just perfect without you.  My life will go on, and I will not change just because you asked me to.

*A week passes*

Me:  I’ve been thinking.  I’m not sure I can do this.  I didn’t mean those things I said.  I love you.  I love your pizza, I love your history, I love OUR history. I love the way the sun shines on your skyline.  I love the colors of your leaves in Central Park in the fall.  I love the spot where Jon proposed and the amazing Highline and the Rockefeller tree.  I love your musicals, ballets, and parades.  But most of all, I love the beautiful people I have met that live in and around this unique city.

Ok, I’m getting mushy and let’s just blame it on the wine.

But I really do love you, New York.  There is really something special about you that I will miss.  And yes, NJ, I love you too.  I know I don’t give you enough credit, but I really believe that I live in the best city in NJ!

Oops..was getting all sappy again.  Sorry.  Maybe I need to wrap this up.

So I hope you will be forgiving if my posts are few and far between for the next few weeks.  I have mucho packing (I’m practicing my Spanish, can’t  you see?) and lots of amigos to spend time with before we leave.  I’m hoping to have a guest blogger or two in the mean time, but I will be taking tons of pictures along the way down that I hope to share with you on here and on my Facebook page.  Which reminds me, if you’re not following P.L.P. on Facebook or Twitter then you’re totally missing out.  Head over there and Do. It.Now!

Any change, even a change for the better, is always accompanied by drawbacks and discomforts. -Arnold Bennett

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Courtland
    Aug 24, 2011 @ 06:06:32

    Love the quote at the end Ash. It is so true. You are going to enjoy the tropical lifestyle in Miami. Meg & I will just have to come down and be bums on your couch for a week or two when we get sick of the snow! :)

    Reply

  2. Leah
    Aug 26, 2011 @ 11:00:14

    That is SO exciting, Ash!!! I can’t wait to come visit you two!! That is so exciting!!
    This blog was adorable, btw. I love how you personified the cities. LOL!!

    Reply

  3. mom
    Aug 29, 2011 @ 11:18:28

    NY will miss you too and I was hoping to get out there again before you left…I don’t know why it had to happen so quickly

    Reply

Whatcha Thinkin?

Previous Posts

